
Is it hard to confess something we've done wrong? Is it hard to look someone in the face and say, "I was wrong?" Is seeking and acknowledging the unbiased, unprejudiced truth too difficult to bear?
I used to be like this when I was younger. I just couldn't accept the truth that I was WRONG and confessing it was even harder. We sometimes shift our blame to some other person or thing instead of "owning-up" to the charge. I remember how God chastised me one time during a moment of seeking His face...I told him that I was sorry for drinking one weekend and that my friends made me do it...they bought the beer and they offered it to me many times before I finally gave in to it. God gave me a humbling revelation..."Did they tie you down in a chair, hold your head back and stick a funnel down your throat and poor beer in it?" I said no. He said, "Then THEY aren't to blame, YOU are!"
GOD reminded me of a time when a friend and I were wrestling in a rented home and we broke a window. His first response was to call the landlord and tell him what we've done...my first response was to quickly go buy another glass and replace it before the landlord finds out. I was very reluctant for my friend to call him, but he did anyway. The landlord said, "Because you have called me and told me the truth about what you've done, I'm going to buy a new glass and have it put in first thing in the morning at no charge to you." I was mesmerized by how easy that was and how clean we felt for doing it.
I was started on a journey to just how important it is to "come clean" and be truthful no matter what the consequences my be. It's better be truthful and face the consequence rather than to lie/avoid telling the truth, having to face far worst consequences.
This blog is saying, "Confess your sins to one another, and above all, get real and truthful to God." He already knows what you did anyway! Confession brings a clean slate and it is a wonderful feeling of knowing you are clean and squared-away with Father God. He who is righteous and just will forgive us our sins.
Now...you're wondering about the picture at the begginning of this blog. It is a truth that most white folks don't like to bear. We've established ourselves as the true race for the US of A and everyone should be inferior to us. We've enslaved blacks, chinese, mexicans, and etc. We established ourselves and the rightful owner of the great land and will defend it at all cost against any terrorist who come against it. We will defeat anyone who tries to come and terrorize our great land and it's people. But, aren't the Indians the rightful owners? Did the white man come and terrorize them? Did we come and occupy a land that belonged to someone else? The answer...yes we did. Oooohhh, I bet that hurt. We were once the same ones we are fighting against now! OUCH! Well, the truth doesn't always feel good, but it's still the truth.
Much luv,
SG